Government introduce a new tiered system to help combat Covid-19

This week, the prime minister, Boris Johnson has announced a new three-tier system of restrictions in England to try to stop the spread of coronavirus.

Every area will be classified as being on medium, high or very high alert - tiers one, two and three.

Level 1 – Medium Risk

Baseline, mimimum restictions applicable to all of England

Fewer than 100 cases per 100,000 of population.

Areas with the lowest rates of infection will be placed in Tier One. They will face the basic national rules currently in force.

The rule of six applies, which means that you may not meet in a group of more than six people, indoors or outdoors.

There are some exemptions to this rule, such as if you live in a household of more than six people or if you are in a support bubble, which allows a household with only one adult in it to join up with another household of any size.

When meeting people from other households (people you do not live with) you should stay two metres apart if possible, or one metre while taking extra precautions, such as wearing face coverings.

Face coverings must be worn in various places indoors such as in shops and on public transport. You should also wash your hands regularly for 20 seconds.

Also in Tier One, pubs, bars and restaurants all have to close at 22:00.

Level 2 – High Risk

Triggers when a rise in transmission cannot be contained through local responses

Cases above 100 per 100,000.

The rules for Tier One also apply in Tier Two.

In addition, you are not allowed to meet socially with people you do not live with indoors. That includes in private homes, pubs or restaurants.

People in support bubbles can go on meeting as before and informal childcare may also be provided.

You can still meet friends and family outdoors, but only in a group of up to six people.

Level 3 – Very High Risk

Triggered when Level 2 measures have not contained the virus, or where there has been a significant rise in transmission

Significantly higher transmission rates

Tier Three is where areas with the most rapidly rising transmission of coronavirus will be placed.

There are basic restrictions and there may be further measures agreed for particular areas - the government said it would work with local councils on the additional measures.

In Tier Three areas you are not allowed to meet socially with anybody who is not part of your household or your support bubble indoors or in certain outdoor locations.

You cannot meet in private gardens or pub gardens, but you are allowed to meet in parks, beaches, countryside or forests, as long as you are not in a group of more than six.

Pubs and bars will be closed unless they are serving substantial meals and only serving alcohol with meals.

The majority of areas in England are on the lowest level, Tier 1, however areas of Lancashire, West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, the Midlands and the North East are currently in Tier 2, High Risk and at present just the Liverpool City region is facing Tier 3, Very High Risk.

Share this

Gold Patrons & Strategic Partners